Now I have been a vegan for 4 years, yay!

Now I have been a vegan for 4 years, yay!

This morning I thought about the book “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran Foer which I read in August 2011 and which led me to becoming a vegan. Now I have been living the vegan life for 4 years and I must say I am feeling great! My blood samples are fantastic, iron levels better than ever! Thanks to my yoga practice I am feeling fit and well-balanced.

So, it is never to late to make that change. I grew up in a time when drinking milk and eating meat was normal and we didn´t think about where that kind of food came from but today we can see what happens on farms and in slaughterhouses, how poor animals are willingly mistreated and tortured. Just open your Facebook feed or watch some videos on youtube and you can see that things have completely gone wrong. Animals deserve to be treated with kindness like every other being. You wouldn’t hit your dog or skin it alive, would you? Why let that be done to innocent cows or intelligent pigs?

When I first became a mom 20 years ago I also fed my children animal products and I feel ashamed of it today but I am so glad I made the change at some point in life and I can tell my children now that I was wrong and feel sorry for it. Today I am proud when they say they don´t want to eat meat anymore because it does´t feel right or they say milk is for cow babies not for humans, and soy milk tastes much better anyway.

Michael Jackson told us to start with that man in the mirror, and he was right, make that change towards kindness and positivity and your life will take a turn for the better.  And when I inspire just one person to reconsider his or her ways and become vegan, my life will have a meaning.

I am sure that in 50 years people will say.: omg, what these barbarians did to animals was as horrible as what they did to jews or Native Indians. Of course, you can always say: I didn´t know, it was normal, everybody did it, but will our descendants believe it?

IMG_1997IMG_5260IMG_5691IMG_6664

One thought on “Now I have been a vegan for 4 years, yay!

Leave a Reply

