Vegan in Oldenburg

Vegan in Oldenburg

IMG_4955.jpg

Now I have been a vegan for 5 years, time really flies .. I vividly remember writing

Now I have been a vegan for 4 years, yay!

Well, what has happened since then? What has changed within the last 5 years?

For one thing it is more common now to eat vegan food. Lots of restaurants here in the beautiful city of Oldenburg offer vegan options now while 5 years ago they would just look at you and ask: But you eat fish, right?

And friends don´t panic when you are coming to dinner – by now they know that you can eat “only” vegetables.

So where do I go when I would like to eat out?

Well, I really like Peter Pane – formerly known as “Hans im Glück. They offer 4 kinds of vegan burgers even one without bread which is great at night when you don´t want to many carbs.

img_4856

Then we have got the Veggiemaid Snackbar which offers a great brunch at the weekends.

When I am on a shopping tour in the city I like to stop at Woyton for a matcha soy latte and / or a vegan bagel.

Of course, there are lots of other great locations in the city but in Summer it is nicer to take a short drive to  the lovely Beachclub Nether where you can sit and watch the wakeboarders do their tricks until sunset while enjoying a Beck´s blue and a blindside burger.

img_3955

A little bit further North on the North Sea coast you can find Sonnendeck Dangast but I have told you about it before. 🙂

Vegan Travelling: Day trips to Hamburg and Dangast

Shopping food gets easier, too. Not only Denn´s Biomarkt but also Edeka, Rewe, Netto, Aldi, even Real offer a wide choice of vegan / organic options.

Although I still like to order some things (like heavy 10 kilo bags of dogfood) at Alles vegetarisch a great online store with an enormous range of articles.

Yes, you heard right, the dog has become a vegan, too. Good old Romeo has been living vegan for three years now and is feeling great like me!

img_3139

For me becoming vegan was the best decision of my life and I hope that I will live to see it becoming “normal”. So if you haven´t tried it #govegan  – at least give it a try for a month and you see how good it makes you feel!

Susi Sanlier - Quote - UPB.jpg

I hope some of these links are useful to you, in case you have other great suggestions about restaurants which offer tasty vegan food, feel free to leave a comment!

shortbread

Find some of my illustrations here

Franzbrötchen1.jpg

Leave a Reply

