December wishes

December wishes

Robinsunderthemisteltoe.jpg

Another month has started, it is December! Everybody is getting very busy with the Christmas preparations, and so am I.

But for me the Advent time always starts with a little downside. Today marks the 30th anniversary of the death of my little brother Jan, he was only 10 years old when he died on  2 December 1986. That was a very tragic event for me  -and of course even more for my parents – which had a great impact on my life. Very often the choices I make are a result of the feeling that nothing lasts forever and you should enjoy life now and not wait until tomorrow.

After the unbearable funeral of my brother my parents moved out of the family home for about six months and left me alone in our house. Being a young girl I felt very afraid and vulnerable suddenly on my own and definitely still in shock about the events. And then came Christmas Eve which has indeed been my darkest night ever. Being alone on Christmas Eve is the worst feeling somebody can experience.

That is why I would like to ask you this year to have a look through your contacts and if you think somebody might be alone on Christmas Eve please move forward and invite them into your home or spend some time with them. Please be kind and give somebody a lovely Christmas time.

And – VERY IMPORTANT – if you love somebody just tell them today – because tomorrow they might not be here anymore.

This year I am very lucky to be able to hold an exhibition of my watercolour works in the palliative ward of a local hospital and so I would like to use the opportunity to dedicate this exhibition to my brother. The exhibition is called “Love remains” and can be visited from 7 December 2016 until 7 February 2017. The Vernissage will take place on 13 December at 3 pm.

fullsizeoutput_6f90

fullsizeoutput_6f50

Find my latest works on Behance

 

I hope you will have the best Christmas time ever this year!

mulled wine.jpeg

Leave a Reply

